Masters of melancholia, Joy Division, which consisted of singer Ian Curtis, Peter Hook on bass, Stephen Morris on guitar and Barnard Sumner on drums, were Britain’s most promising post-punk band. The group formed after Hook and Sumner saw the Sex Pistols play in 1976. In 1978, they recorded their first album, Unknown Pleasures, with producer Martin Hannent. They toured England and Europe the year after and in 1980 the single ‘Love will tear us apart’ became a big hit. Curtis committed suicide the same year, just prior to the release of their second album, Closer. While the remaining members regrouped as New Order with Gillian Gilbert on keyboards, Joy Division’s influence grew, more recently with bands like Interpol, the Rakes and Editors. 2002’s 24 Hour Party People and 2007’s Control paid tribute to the band.



Our website has detected that you are using a browser that will prevent you from accessing certain features. An upgrade is recommended to experience the full features of the Trahan Architects website. Use the links below to upgrade your exisiting browser.
Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.